I want a face that reveals

Bosch Christ Carrying the Cross
A poem as I contemplated the face of Christ
in Hieronymus Bosch’s painting ‘Christ Carrying the Cross’

 

I want a face that reveals
what is going on inside me.

It is not that I want to show off
the speed of my understanding
For most of my understandings
have taken so much time to sink in
that the face I wore at the time
I first heard any revelation
is long forgotten.
Nor is it because I am now
so happy with what is inside me
that the beauty of what lies within
will radiate all the loveliness
of my soul at peace.
No, I want a face that reveals
that fear no longer dominates
I want a face that reveals
openness to the wind
confidence in the light
ease with my neighbour
forgiveness of those who would harm me
a posture of delight in the possibility of things…
a face so free,
that I can be courageous
even when descending into a mess
martin stewart 2016
Leave a Reply

