Resurrection and RS Thomas

I’m preparing for the mandatory post-Easter encounter between the risen Jesus and Thomas (John 20)…it really is one of the best days to be involved in.  I love the Thomas line: ‘Unless I see the mark of the nails in his hands and put my finger in the mark of the nails and my hand in his side, I will not believe.’  So bold!  So demanding!  So 21st century!

I will post what I come up with after tomorrow, but there is a grand RS Thomas poem that is getting an airing…The Answer:

Not darkness but twilight
In which even the best of minds must make its way
now. And slowly the questions
occur, vague but formidable
for all that. We pass our hands
over their surface like blind
men feeling for the mechanism
that will swing them aside. They
yield, but only to re-form
as new problems; and one
does not even do that
but towers immovable
before us.

[resurrection is one of these questions that towers immovable before us!]

Is there no way
of other thought of answering
its challenge? There is an anticipation
of it to the point of
dying. There have been times
when, after long on my knees
in a cold chancel, a stone has rolled
from my mind, and I have looked
in and seen the old questions lie
folded and in a place
by themselves, like the piled
grave-clothes of love’s risen body.  The Answer R S Thomas

Leave a Reply

