Good Friday this year

On Friday we are using Psalm 69: 2, 14-15 as the key text (after a wonderful sermon ‘Deep Waters’ by Walter Brueggemann).

“I sink in deep mire where there is no foothold; I have come into deep waters, and the flood sweeps over me…
Rescue me from sinking in the mire: let me be delivered from my enemies and from the deep waters.
Do not let the flood sweep over me, or the deep swallow me up or the Pit close its mouth over me.”

Stronghold by Sieger Koder

This Koder painting offers an interesting angle on Good Friday that we will be working with on Good Friday…it contains a curious mixture of images – the first impression is that it is Jesus pulling the sinking and drowning Peter out of the water, as he and the disciples (many of whom are hardened fishermen!) are fearing for their lives.  That is there, but maybe also there is Jonah being rescued, God’s hand coming to him representing the large fish, but maybe also the psalmist and his cry is in the image, as the deep waters threaten to overwhelm, and, of course, it could be Jesus being held as the waters rise…with us looking on from the boat… the artist leaves us the room for imagining.
There is a hint of the marks of nails on the hand that holds out to rescue. A hand for us?

2 thoughts on “Good Friday this year

  1. I used this picture with my church home group yesterday. In the course of our discussion, we noticed that rather than it being Peter clutching at Jesus’ with both hands, there are three right hands. I’ve been unable to find any reference to this on the net, and wondered if you had any comments. Very interesting couple of posts by the way.

    • How interesting! That got me thinking Sandra – what if the other hand is yours, or mine? Is that what the artists invites us to consider is our way of participating rather than observing? Good spotting home group people!!

Leave a Reply

